Fish tacos

fishtacos

Today, there was lots of reduced fish in the supermarket, and also a number of very small cabbages, so I put two and two together and made fish tacos! I used to make them with guacamole and salsa, but a visit to the US convinced me to switch to experiments with coleslaw. Here is my latest version:

1 small red cabbage
2 shallots (I used the small round ones, not the long ones)
juice of 1-2 limes
good quality oil
salt
grated garlic
fresh coriander, chopped
chopped red chillies

Slice cabbage and onions in the food processor, or pass them through a sharp grater. Add remaining ingredients.

Fish tacos can be made with any fish that doesn’t fall apart so easily. Today, I used sword fish, because it was reduced to £1.50 a piece. I marinated the pieces in a mixture of oil, lime, paprika, smoked paprika, salt and garlic, and fried them in a mixture of the same, with some more paprika dusted on them. They were so good, the neighbours’ cat climbed onto the roof next door to jump through my kitchen window!

tacocat

Leave a Reply

