Flourless and potatoless fish cakes

[photo to follow]

I haven’t been good with updating the blog lately, with the unfortunate consequence that I’ve lost some recipes that I can’t seem to recreate. Before more of this happens, I’ll better start writing down the ones that I can reconstruct.

I have recently ‘inherited’ quite a few things that I don’t normally buy, because two friends have temporarily moved to Australia. I received two big bags filled with almond flour, quinoa, various kinds of beans, coconut flour, coconut oil and also tupperware. Hence some new additions. Feel free to substitute.

Because I need to travel for work a lot at the moment, I am making an increasing amount of portable food, especially burgers. Last summer, I discovered this amazing recipe for quinoa burgers. I’ve been making it at least once a month now. Also, I made my friends some fish burgers. Since they follow a special diet, I had to make them without flour and potatoes. Here is the rather tasty result:

medium coley fillet (baked in foil)
1 grated courgette
1 grated onion
1 grated clove of garlic
1 cooked ripe plantain, mashed
1 egg
almond flour for thickening (you can use normal flour or bread crumbs instead)
spice mixture made from: mustard powder, paprika (also smoked), salt, pepper
coconut (or other) oil for frying

Combine all the ingredients, shape into small burgers and fry them in a pan. Eat by themselves with salad, or serve in burger buns with condiments of choice!

Leave a Reply

