Rhubarb crumble cake

IMG_2797

This was last month’s  f*** you moment to ‘austerity’ and to my bank account: rhubarb cake adapted from a Waitrose recipe that was kindly sent to me by a friend.

400g outdoor rhubarb, trimmed and cut into 2cm pieces
200g golden caster sugar (I also added a bit of vanilla sugar while I was at it)
150g butter, softened
2 medium eggs, lightly beaten
75g self-raising flour
½ tsp baking powder
100g ground almonds
Grated zest of 1 small orange, plus 2 tbsp juice
2 tbsp of full-fat yoghurt

Crumble topping made from plain flour, softened butter, sugar, vanilla sugar and a handful of chopped almonds. It doesn’t get much more decadent that this in my household!

Basically, you pour some of the sugar onto your chopped rhubarb pieces and mix the other ingredients (save the crumble topping!) together in a bowl. Then you add the rhubarb and pour everything into a cake tin. I substituted the almond topping with a crumble topping.

The cake should go in at gas mark 5 initially, and you switch it down to 4 after about half an hour. Bake the cake for another 20-30 mins & let it cool for a bit before eating. It is super nice warm with warm custard in this super cold spring!

By the way, I was lazy when it came to the custard and made it from 500 ml hot milk and a packet of German vanilla sauce powder… : >

I also made a very nice maize meal cake subsequently which was also very nice warmed up. I forgot to take a picture, but will make it again soon & then post the recipe. My partner has been diagnosed with a gluten allergy, so will post gluten free recipes from that part of my experimentation!

Leave a Reply

