Summer cooking – Pancake soup, lemon cake & rose cordial

Am currently quite addicted to Austrian pancake soup (‘Frittatensuppe’). It’s a light, beautiful soup that’s perfect after an extended swim at the lido & very easy & cheap to make. First, you make as much stock from stock cubes or fresh stocks as you like. Next are the pancakes:
Whisk together 5 oz/125 ml milk, 1 egg, 2 oz (50g) plain flour and some salt (I sometimes put in some nutmeg or chives). Make two pancakes in a heated and well-oiled pan, transfer them to a plate and cut them into thin strips (I do this by rolling the pancakes up – I’m lazy).

Put the pancake strips into a bowl, add stock and chopped spring onions.

I also tried out my first almond free lemon semolina cake. Didn’t have almonds in the house and had cravings for a simple, tangy cake. Because I also have lots of flower waters from the Indian shop down the road, I thought, I’d use the opportunity to add some, too!

For the dough I used:
125g butter
1 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
2/3 cup semolina
1 1/2 cups self-raising flour
1/2 cup milk
lemon rind
dashes of orange flower water, rose water, kewra water & orange essence

I mixed all ingredients together & put the cake in the oven (Gas Mark 5) for just over an hour.

For the syrup I used:
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup lemon juice
1/2 cup water
dashes of orange flower water, rose water, kewra water & orange essence (towards the end) and a bit more lemon juice
you can also add lemon slices to the syrup for later cake decoration attempts!
Again, everything but the flower waters were mixed and boiled for at least 15 mins. Before pouring the syrup over the hot cake, the flower waters and a little extra lemon were added.

I also made some rose cordial this week. Unfortunately not with fresh roses, as I don’t know anyone who’s got any. I dissolved about 500g sugar in 500 ml water and heated it. When the syrup was thick enough, I added about half a bottle of rose water and a dash of orange flower and kewra water. I also added some berry juice for colouring. Was nice with water, crushed ice, and some extra lemon! Unfortunately, I gave nearly all of it away & forgot to take a picture! : (

Leave a Reply

