Black lentil & spinach curry

This is truly my best curry to date! I was sent the black lentils from Germany for my birthday (thank you, Rosa!), and I first wasn’t quite sure what to make with them. They seemed pretty special, and I didn’t just want to make one of my normal lentil dishes with them. One idea I had was making this amazingly good looking Midnight Hummus, but then I couldn’t find dark enough tahini. A few days ago, I came across a recipe for Dal Makhani and thought about using that as a basis. In the end I came up with the following recipe (for about 15 people):

1 packet of black ‘Beluga’ lentils, soaked overnight
about 4 large packets of baby spinach
3 chillies
shallots/onions/spring onions
8 cloves of garlic
garam masala or any other good curry powder you like (i chose one with a high mustard content)
black mustard seeds
extra cumin
salt, pepper
1 extra thick double cream

for the rice:
1.5 kg basmati & wild & red rice
cardamom pods
cumin seeds
1 cinnamon stick
salt
tumeric

How to make:

Chop vegetables and gently fry in oil and spices. Add the drained lentils, stir some more.

Add quite a bit of water, so that the lentils are covered with between 1 and 2 inches of water. Add salt and simmer until lentils are a little tender. Add the spinach. Simmer until spinach and lentils are soft.

I then left it to sit overnight and reheated it. You probably don’t have to do this. Next, I blended most of  the top (spinach) half of the curry, added the cream and seasoned the whole thing a bit more with salt and garam masala.

For the rice, I boiled 1 1/2 times as much water with the spices. After adding the rice and stirring it, I left it to boil dry and let it rest for a bit. The rice came out nice, fluffy and tasty!

I also made a coriander salad with it.

One response to “Black lentil & spinach curry

  1. Pingback: May improvisations… « Something From Anything

Leave a Reply

