Yoghurt Cake & more guest cooking!

Another case of being too reluctant to get out of my pyjamas and wanting cake… So the cake had to be made with what was in the house. Added difficulty: I wanted it to be cheesecake-like. The problem: only yoghurt in the house! So I started looking for yoghurt cheesecake recipes. Unfortunately, the only ones I could find used strained yoghurt, and I did not want to wait for 12 hours until the yoghurt was strained. I wanted the cake NOW! After a few minutes of searching I came across a suitable recipe that could be modified to suit my needs. You can find the original recipe here.

My recipe turned out as follows:

Base:

1 ½ (tea)cups flour
½ cup sugar
1 ½ tsp baking powder
1/3 cup butter
2 eggs
vanilla sugar & vanilla pod insides

For the fruit filling I used 2 peeled & finely cut apples, half of my temporary room mate’s frozen mixed berries and a packet of vanilla sugar. Makes a pretty tangy filling, especially combined with the yoghurt topping.

Yoghurt topping:

2 tbsp flour
2 cups plain yoghurt
1 egg
1/2 cup sugar
grated rind of 1 lemon
1 or 2 vanilla sugar (can’t remember how much)

I then also made a crumble topping:

1 cup flour
about 1/2 cup sugar
vanilla sugar
at least 1/2 butter
(you can also add cinnamon, but I forgot!)

I baked the cake at gas mark 5 for about 90 mins. That’s because my oven is a bit temperamental. You’ll probably need less! The result taste very fresh & summery…

Er, and now for something completely different – another example of my friend’s cheese mania!

Spinach-gorgonzola pasta, which got cooked for me by my favourite temporary housemate 😉

Basically, you boil pasta. While you boil it, you make the sauce from

finely cut shallots
crushed garlic
1 bag of spinach
gorgonzola
fresh parmesan cheese
cream cheese
nutmeg
salt
pepper

As another friend commented, afterwards you’ll probably need your arteries replaced! 😉

Leave a Reply

