Mexican Rice

Ha! Today I made the best Mexican-style rice ever! At least that’s what it felt like when I ate it. I made enough for an army, using about 3 pounds of rice. How did I make it? As far as I can remember the recipe goes as follows:

I fried the rice in lots of oil (no, I wasn’t shy), then added
1 finely chopped onion
half a garlic, chopped
1 red and 1 yellow pepper, finely chopped

When the rice was browned and the vegetables soft-ish, I stirred in:

1 tin of tomato puree
3 or 4 vegetable stock cubes for 500ml water each
nearly 3 litres of water
some paprika powder
salt and pepper to taste

…and then waited for about 20mins for the whole lot to cook just soft.
The whole thing was so delicious, I completely forgot to eat the chilli that was supposed to go with it… and to take a picture, I’m afraid. But I will make it again ASAP!

Leave a Reply

