Flourless Nut Cake (gluten free)

This is one of my favourite cakes – and it also happens to be gluten-free (more by accident than by design). In the UK, it is quite expensive to make as nuts (and eggs) cost quite a lot. Luckily, I often have visitors bringing or sending me nuts from the continent, so I end up with a regular supply. This cake, I made for a birthday party. I can’t remember whether I’ve posted this recipe already. I can’t seem to find it with my search function, anyway…

So, the basic ingredients are:

400g roughly ground hazelnuts (I don’t like the finely ground, dry stuff you get in supermarkets, but you can also use that for a drier, denser texture)
6 eggs, beaten
100-200g sugar (depending on how sweet you like it)
baking powder

That’s it!

Bake for about an hour at about 160-180 degrees Celsius until firm and slightly browned.

I sometimes add other ingredients such as chocolate bits, and my mum often adds ginger. And because she likes the cake more dense, she sometimes adds breadcrumbs and flour. But I prefer the very basic recipe. She also tends to coat the cake with nut or chocolate icing, but I just dust some icing sugar on top. You can also add different kinds of spices to the cake and the dusting (e.g. cinnamon, cloves, coriander, cardamom, ginger).

Leave a Reply

