Veggie Sausage Casserole & Cold Baked Apples

Believe it or not – I’m still living from February’s party leftovers! Last weekend, I made some pizza with some remaining veg and last night, the remaining cream went into some delicious mash. Today, the final vegetables united to form a veggie sausage casserole. Basically, I needed to use up some peppers, carrots, mushrooms and veggie sausages. Also, I discovered a bag of brown lentils in the cupboard. The resulting recipe reads as follows:

2 onions
4 cloves of garlic
2 peppers
4 carrots
mushrooms
lentils
2 vegetable stock cubes, 1 pints of water
salt, pepper
majoram

Gently fry chopped vegetables for a bit. Add any brown or green lentils and at least 1 pint of vegetable stock. Leave to simmer. If the pot contents are getting dry, top up with vegetable stock.
When the casserole is done (when the lentils are soft), fry or grill at least

chopped quorn (or other veggie) sausages.

You can also make a lentil soup out of the ingredients and place the sausages in it whole.

Because the meal was so filling, I had to wait a little with my dessert. I found that cold baked apples actually taste very nice and don’t need any custard.

If I ever buy apples that don’t taste very nice raw I bake them with some butter, sugar and cinnamon. Sometimes I put almonds or sultanas with them if I happen to have leftovers from baking!

Leave a Reply

