Broad Bean Hummus

The local market had lots of broad beans the other day, so I bought a big bag of them – also, because I was curious what you could make with them. I searched around on the internet and tried out a few dishes, but I found out that I don’t like them that much when they are cooked – so far at least. I did like them a lot as a cold mash (again, photo will follow when film is finished) with spices on bread, the recipe for this paste being derived from the Broad Bean Paté on the Vegetarian Society website.

Basically, shell some broad beans (they’ve got really amazing insides!), boil them for 5 mins, put them in the blender with coriander, cumin, turmeric, garlic, lemon juice, olive oil, salt and pepper. If you do not have all of the ingredients, don’t worry. Just season it to taste. The above combination tastes just like hummus and is much quicker to make. You can also add sesame oil to emphasise that flavour if you happen to have a whole ‘oil rack’.

I read somewhere that broad beans are a ‘stone age food’. People who follow a Stone Age diet seem to omit them, however. For a laugh, I ate the ‘hummus’ on rhyvita which seemed to me the closest approximation of stone age bread. Delicious!
I also thought, maybe they should recruit me for a prehistoric survival research project to see whether I can still make ‘something from anything’ 😉

Leave a Reply

