Watermelon Rind Pickle

Yes, you can… is the answer. Sweet & Sour, Savoury & Spicy, Candied, In Syrup. No longer do you have to chuck it away – unless you have to worry about your energy bill… Look it up on the net! 😉

I chose to try out the sweet & sour recipe, which reminded me of the pickled pumpkin that accompanies the Northern German version of haggis. I think it is a custom in the South of the United States to make this.

First, I got together with lots of people in various places to eat a whole watermelon, apparently curing many friends’ Friday hangovers. I then carried my loot home, cut the remaining ‘red stuff’ and ‘green stuff’ off, cut the ‘white stuff’ up and soaked it in salt water. (Americans soak it in something called ‘pickling lime’, but I couldn’t be bothered to look up what it is. Will do that in the future though, as I’m a curious sort of person…). It basically looks like this for 24 hrs:

I then drained the pieces, boiled them in fresh water for a bit, drained them again and added them to a boiling broth of equal amounts of water and cider vinegar as well as enough sugar to justify the ‘sweet’ in the ‘sweet & sour’ (i used 1 1/2 bottles of vinegar and about 1 kg of various kinds of sugars I found in my cupboard. One of them was Molasses, hence the dark colour). I also added a mix of spices (the usual allspice berries, cinnamon sticks, ginger, but also lime peel and dried chillies, just because they were lurking about in my vicinity), so that the whole kitchen stank of cheap mulled wine mixed with cleaning products for more than an hour. Once the watermelon rind pieces were clear, I transferred them with the liquid into sterilised glasses. They look like this and should be ready to eat in about 1 1/2 months:

 PS: I’ve seen on the net that some people pickle the rind (as a hangover cure) with both the red and the green stuff still on. I hope they are careful eating it, coz the green stuff is supposed to act as a laxative!! What a way to get rid of a hangover! 😉

2 responses to “Watermelon Rind Pickle

  1. Post back, tell me how this works out. i’m curious 🙂

Leave a Reply

