Prussian Dessert

I have this 200 year old German cookery book which I inherited from my grandma. In gothic script, it tells you some very strange recipes and advice. The most bizarre one so far is the ‘Prussian Dessert’. To make this cold pudding you will need:

1 slice of coarse brown rye bread

1 dash of bitter beer

1 dash of cream (single, double or whipping cream)

sugar, cinnamon

Crumble the bread into a dessert bowl, pour a bit of bitter beer over it and a bit of cream. Sprinkle with sugar and cinnamon.

This should definitely take you back in time! Unfortunately, I am allergic to alcohol, so I have not tried it. If you feel inspired to do so, please let me know about your taste experience… In the meantime, I might make a non-alcoholic version with supermalt!

5 responses to “Prussian Dessert

  1. What an awesome recipe! I’ll have to try this some day.
    I know it’s an odd question, but do you know the title of the book/author?

  2. Hello Michelle! The book is currently safely stored away at my parents’ house, but I will ask them tomorrow about title and author. It is really quite fascinating. Most recipes use some form of alcohol instead of water, presumably because the drinking water quality was so bad! On a few rare occasions the recipes ask for spring water.

  3. I’ll have to try this sometime this week~ Thanks for posting it!

    By the way, what’s the name of the book and the author’s name? I’d be really interested in knowing this. (That way I can work on finding a copy online…)

  4. Sorry for the late reply. The name of the cookery book is ‘Magdeburgisches Kochbuch’. It is from 1819 and was written by an anonymous author who only identifies herself as a female householder. It is written as an instruction book for other women.

  5. I actually found what you could describe as an updated version of this dessert in a modern German cookery book. It is called ‘buttermilk soup’. For the modern version you need 30 g raisins or sultanas (soaked) and 1 l buttermilk mixed with 50 g dark German bread, 50 sugar and a dash of lemon juice. Have not tried it yet.

Leave a Reply

