Avocados

I like avocados in their raw state, as a spread or in a salad. But you can also use them in hot dishes. Once I got a packet of four ripe avocados from the reduced to clear pile and had to vary the buggers as much as possible. I made spreads, salads, battered avocado snacks, stir fries and curries. Here are my main recipes for cold avocado (see also ‘Light Salads’ – Beetroot Salad):

Guacamole as bread spread

Very nice just on crusty rolls or whatever was in the reduced to clear pile – if you want, have it with some tomatoes on top. Very nutritious and seems to make my skin soft from the inside…

1 ripe avocado
Lemon or lime juice
Garlic
Pepper
Salt
Cajun

Mash avocado. Squeeze a bit of lemon on it. Add crushed garlic, pepper, salt and a bit of cajun spice mix.

Avocado Salad

I make this salad when I find basil in the reduced to clear section, usually from spring when avocados are at their tastiest. It is so rich, especially when eaten with bread, that it can serve as a main meal.

1-2 ripe avocados (I usually get the dark ones, unless the others are cheaper)
ripe tomatoes
fresh basil
lime or lemon juice
(olive) oil
salt
pepper

pitta bread (I use sainsbury’s basics)

Slice avocados and tomatoes and place in a bowl. Sprinkle with salt, freshly grated pepper, lime juice and olive oil.

Serve with toasted pitta bread.

2 responses to “Avocados

  1. YUM! Those sandwiches look SO GOOD! I want one right now. That’s about my favourite avocado recipe, too – and so simple, innit?

  2. Pingback: The Tastiest Veggie Burgers So Far « Something From Anything

Leave a Reply

